Terms of Use
USA State Flags
Mexican Flag
 Children Flags
USA Flags
American Flag
Full Page Flags
Union Jack Flag
European Flags
Country Flags
Print World Flags
Flag Backgrounds
Flags Graphics
Flags Wallpaper
Outdoor Flags
Flags Coloring
Flags History
Flags Pictures
Flags Images
Flags Meaning
US State Symbols
Funeral Flags
Medieval Flags
Flags On Sale
Flag Controversy
Flag Retirement
Flag Tattoos
Olympic Flag
Soviet Union
Flags Symbolize
Flag Facts
Flags Represent
Waving Flags
Other Flags
Revolutionary Flag
Rebel Flag
Animated Flags
Privacy Policy
About Us
Flag Poles
For Sale

Subscribe To This Site

History of ASEAN Flag

Facts and History of ASEAN Flag

ASEAN is not a nation, actually it is an acronym for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.

It is an organization of ten countries. In August of 1967 five nations: Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia and the Phillipines formed the group to promote peace, cooperation and economic advancement and protection by working together.

An emblem was designed to represent the association. Eventually five other countries joined the association. They were: Burma in July of 1997, Cambodia in 1999, Laos also in 1997, Brunei Darussalam in 1984 and Vietnam in 1995.

In November 1993 a flag was adopted. It has a blue base with the ASEAN emblem in the center.

The symbol is a red circle with a thin white rim and then a blue rim. In the center is a bundle of ten stalks tied together which was meant to symbolize the ten countries of the group.

ASEAN flag picture

The colors also have meanings. All we will say about the colors at this time is that they were chosen to have at least one color from the national flag of each member nation. This was so that no one nation can feel superior to the others.

The association also is part of ASEAN plus 3 which is the present numbers cooperating with the People’s Republic of China, South Korea and Japan.

Then there is the East Asia Summit which is the ASEAM plus 3 cooperation with the nations of Australia India and New Zealand.

There is a regional forum which is an informal multilateral among 27 nations. The list includes the members of the East Asia Summit and Bangladesh, Canada, the European Union, Mongolia, Russia, North Korea, the U.S. and Pakistan. Coincidentally the ASEAN flag has at least one color from most of these countries also.

Go from Facts and History of ASEAN Flag to World Free Printable Flags Home

Back to Flags History


AddThis Social Bookmark Button